Riley Medal

As successor to the West of Scotland Iron and Steel Institute, the Association is able to award the prestigious Riley Medal.

2020 A hat trick of recipients -News Release

The Riley Medal

The Riley Medal is named after James Riley, the first President of the West of Scotland ISI. 

He was a nationally known figure and a member of the Iron and Steel Institute based in London. 

The medal has been awarded discontinuously over almost 100 years in recognition of the impact individuals have made to the promotion and advancement of the science and technology of metals, alloys and allied materials.

Sometimes, the award was made to recognise the technical contribution made by the recipients, for example William Barr and I M McKenzie.  In other cases, the award acknowledged prolonged and dedicated professional service:  past Secretaries P W Thomas and A MacLaggan and long serving Treasurer Dr J M Arrowsmith have each received the medal.  Other recipients such as Viscount Weir, Sir Ian Wood and Dr Peter Hughes were selected on account of their leadership of the wider industry.

Further information on James Riley

A full list of the recipients of the Riley medal can be found below:

YearRiley Medallists
1926G Beard
1947J Taylor
1948J Monagham
1951R P Towndrow
1953G Bowman
1957W Barr and I M Mackenzie
1959E H Baldwin, I M Mathieson and D B McNeill
1966H W Kirkby
1974P W Thomas
1984A McLaggan
1992J M Arrowsmith and Viscount Weir
1994Sir Ian Wood
2016P Hughes
2020Prof E Tanner, Prof T N Baker and J R Wilcox

Student Prizes

The association awards three prizes annually to students who have demonstrated an excellent knowledge in their chosen materials based area.

The prizes are awarded to students studying on two undergraduate programmes at the University Of Glasgow; Mechanical Engineering and Biomedical Engineering and one student studying at Edinburgh Napier University; MSc Advanced Materials Engineering.

UniversityCourseYearPrize winner
University of GlasgowMechanical Engineering2015Karolis Siksnius
2016Julija Volkova
2017Ross Williams​
2018David Colquhoun
2019Brogan Gauld
2020Luis Gonzalez Camacho
2021Azam Ghaffar
2022Liam Robbie
2023Rahul Marwaha
University of GlasgowBiomedical Engineering2014Anna Zalauf
2015Ian Smith
2016Bojidar Rangelov
2017Katie Douglas
2018Matthew Smith​
2019Giuseppe Ciccone
2020Emma Garcia Legler
2021Daisy Ferraro
2022Emma Knox
2023Zarina Issabekova
Edinburgh Napier UniversityAdvanced Materials Engineering2014Morten Nordahl
2015Aamir Ali
2016Scott Sneddon
2017Maria Lang Penalver​
2018Stewart Russell
2019Michael Mccracken
2020Lewis Murdoch
2021Katharina Maletz
2022Cezary Lisicki